Where is Moldova?

WordPress has a stellar feature that allows you to see where folks are reading your blog around the world. And while I’ve been a bit of a blog slacker in the past month, for some odd reason people keep accessing laateedaa, which is pretty awesome. So, where in the world are y’all reading? [see below]

eImage

[note: evidence above will show you that 1) I’ve been on a Gone with the Wind nostalgia kick. 2) I just figured out how to take this screen shot a few seconds ago and 3) I spend way too much time on Spotify]

I gotta say, this map is FREAKING AWESOME. Yeah, the numbers aren’t exactly high, but because of this map I have learned that since February 2012 my popularity in Germany has grown. Move over, David Hasselhoff- there’s a new American sheriff in town.

I like to think that I’m pretty well versed in world geography and history. [My degrees, while useless in the “real world”, have been particularly helpful during pub trivia bouts.] But, I must admit, when I saw Moldova on this list I had to scratch my head and think if I knew anything about it. After a second I realized that nope, I did not know a thing about Moldova. And if someone was going to take the time to read my blog from there, then I must try to get to know something about their country.

So, friends, family, and readers, I present to you a few facts about Moldova:

1.  Since it’s located between Asia and Europe, Moldova became a sort of Game of Thrones-esque [minus the dragons, I think] playing field for ancient conquerors. I would not have wanted to be a Moldovan when the Mongols came rolling through in the Middle Ages.

2. It is the 138th largest country in the world by land mass. There are 193 countries in the United Nations. Moldova is tiny.

3. The twentieth century was not kind to Moldova.

4. Moldova is well known for its wine making. Moldova also consumes the highest amount of alcohol per capita in the WORLD.

5. Moldovans drive on the right side of the road.

Sure, maybe the person accessing the blog may not actually be a person, but a server pinging sites across the globe. Regardless of the source, it’s incredible to know that we’re all connected at the speed of a keystroke. And while the world seems to be in a constant, volatile churn, it’s important to remember that we’re all people. We’re all googling random things in the middle of the night – coming across blogs that remind that us being human is universal, whether you live in Redondo Beach, California or Chisinau, Moldova.

say what?

